MT wins the Harz-Energie Cup

MT Melsungen has won the 2016 Klaus Miesner Memorial Tournament. The team from North Hesse prevailed in the final against host SC Magdeburg 29-24 (13-14). Top performers included sharpshooter Arjan Haenen (7) and keeper Svetislav Verkic, who made a number of cracking saves in the second half. Felix Danner was voted Most Valuable Player for the tournament as a whole. Daniel Petersson from Magdeburg scored eight times; Dario Quenstedt was tabbed as best keeper. The goal scoring crown went to Kim Andersson, who racked up 27 points in three matches. This marks the second time the MT has won the tournament since 2009.

Photo (MT-Trommler): the face of champions — The victorious MT team with the Cup and fans in Harzland Hall Islenburg.

SC Magdeburg started off well in this match, going in front 2-0 on just 2 minutes thanks to scores from Fabian van Olphen and Daniel Pettersson. The newcomer manning the right wing had a fantastic first half and proved his marksmanship — of Magdeburg's eleven goals, eight (!) came off the Swede's hand.

SCM coach Bennet Wiegert was forced to be creative with his personnel to account for the missing Olympians. Wingers Robert Weber and Matthias Musche spent their time splitting playmaker duties; a seventh field player without a goalkeeper designation shirt was also frequently spotted. A double-pivot system featuring Zeljko Musa and Jacob Bagersted was also used. Melsungen also opted to use the seventh court player when a man down - costing them an empty goal net for 5-2 (8th minute); Rene Villadsen's desperate sprint back was in vain.

Melsungen extracted its revenge not long after: Villadsen took a deflected ball and scored directly on the counter for 5-4 (10th minute), and Arjan Haenen followed with the equaliser. SCM ended up suffering two more empty net goals in the first half: a brace from Haenen for 10-9 gave the team from North Hesse its first lead of the day.

Magdeburg fought back, however, and regained the lead on a van Olphen effort: 12-11 on 24 minutes. Michael Roth reacted with a time-out. Nemanja Zelenovic scored a brace for the SCM just before the half, and the hosts retreated to the dressing room leading 14-13.

Melsungen made a change between the pipes for the second half, with Svetislav Verkic replacing Villadsen. SCM promptly blew their first chances, which the North Hesse side exploited to snatch back the lead. Michael Müller first shot for 16-15, followed by Momir Rnic's strike for 17-15 (36th minute). Things began to flow better for Melsungen: while Verkic Robert Weber converted a seven metre throw, Johannes Sellin did him one better: 19-17 via a free throw on 41 minutes.

The MT also found the right spacing with Philipp Müller and Johannes Golla in the centre block. With Magdeburg still rolling the tactical dice with an extra court player, turnovers yields yielded direct profit: Verkic and Golla both scored in quick succession on an empty net, extending the lead to 22-17 (44th minute).

Bennet Wiegert used the remainder of the match to give his younger players live competition experience. At times five SCM youngsters — keeper Florian Link, Alexander Saul, Johannes Wasielewski, Justus Kluge and Tim Wiebe — were on the floor at once. The general run of play continued, however, with Golla slotting home to wrap things up at 29-24. (Report: jun,

Final standings for the Klaus Miesner Memorial Tournament

1. MT Melsungen
2. SC Magdeburg
3. SC DHfK Leipzig
4. Ystads IF
5. VfL Gummersbach
6. RK Gorenje Velenje

Latest News

Month View

 60 Minuten Vollgas