MT youngster Dimitri Ignatow will also play in the Euros

Following in the footsteps of MT pivot Johannes Golla, who is currently playing with the DHB U20 squad at the Junior European Championship in Denmark, Dimitri Ignatow has seized his chance to play on the international stage as well. The right wing for the MT Juniors A team was tapped for the DHB U18 squad, and will travel to Croatia for the European U18 Championships to start in mid-August. The DHB reported the nominations on Monday.

European U18 Championship roster has been announced!

The die has been cast: On the heels of the final two international test matches in Slovenia this past weekend (27-28, 20-23), the managerial trio of Jochen Beppler, Andre Haber and Klaus Langhoff have hammered out their preferred squad for the U18 European Championship in Croatia. 14 of the 16 players nominated were on the court in Slovenia, with Moritz Strosack (SG Ottenheim-Altenheim) and Marcel Timm (VfL Gummersbach) rejoining the team. Jannek Klein (SG Flensburg-Handewitt) did not make the final cut.

The European Championship (11 – 21 August) will be held in the Croatian town of Koprivnica, with Portugal (11 August, 1:30 pm), Poland (12 August, 1:30 pm) and Serbia (14 August, 1:30 pm) scheduled as Germany's preliminary round opponents in Group D. The top two teams in each group qualify for the main round. There the DHB squad would face teams from Group C, including Sweden, Croatia, Czech Republic and Island.

Fine tuning on the German team will come during a pre-tournament training camp from 5 – 9 August in Frankfurt. The team will then fly to Croatia on 10 August, where it will settle into accommodations in Djurdjevac for the duration of the Euros.

Germany's U18 Squad for the European Championships in Croatia:
Goal: Till Klimpke (HSG Dutenhofen), Tim Hottgenroth (TSV Bayer Dormagen)
Court:  Tim Matthes (Füchse Berlin), Robin Breitenfeldt (SG Flensburg-Handewitt), Sebastian Heymann (TSB Heilbronn-Horkheim), Niklas Diebel (TSV Hannover-Burgdorf), Lukas Stutzke (TSV Bayer Dormagen), Eloy Morante Maldonado (TSV Bayer Dormagen), Luis Villgrattner (HBW Balingen-Weilstetten), Lukas Kister (TSV GWD Minden), Gregor Remke (EHV Aue), Dimitri Ignatow (MT Melsungen), Jakob Knauer (Füchse Berlin), Ferris Klotz (THW Kiel), Marcel Timm (VfL Gummersbach), Moritz Strosack (SG Ottenheim/Altenheim)

Latest News

Month View

 60 Minuten Vollgas